top of page

the order



Although the Ancient and Masonic Order is the most recent Masonic Order to become widely accessible to Brethren in the United Kingdom it was first introduced into this country by his Honour Judge Frederick Adolphus Phibrick KC in 1889. The order was derived from Holland and founded upon 18th century documents from the Amsterdam Masonic archives in The Netherlands, so the Order is truly ancient in origin.


Throughout the late 19th Century, the Degree was only conferred upon the most senior members of the major Masonic Orders and others distinguished brethren at the behest of the Grand Summus. Consequently, it was known to only an exceedingly small number of high-ranking freemason’s and kept by them as a closely guarded secret.


As time passed, the Order then inducted fewer and fewer members and by the by the early 20th Century, it ceased to exist at all, except

as an archive in the vaults of Mark Masons Hall.

The archive was then re-discovered during building work at Mark Masons Hall in the late 20th century, but it was found that many of the documents containing the Ritual of the Order were irreparably damaged by water. Fortunately, sufficient information remained.

There followed a period of painstaking reconstruction of the lost material by Worthy Brothers.

Ian Currans, Brian Wareham, and Roy Leavers, among others.


The Scarlet Cord Conclave No 500 in the Order of the Secret Monitor was Consecrated in 2006 by the Grand Supreme Ruler of the Order of

the Secret Monitor, Most Worthy Brother Peter Glyn Williams, with the authority to transpose itself into a Consistory and confer Grades

of the Scarlet Cord upon senior members of the Order of the Secret Monitor.

Over the next four years, the Orders popularity developed rapidly, and 62 Secret Monitor Conclaves, dedicated to the Scarlet Cord were consecrated.


By 2010, the Order had grown sufficiently to become a Sovereign Body, and on the 21st July of that year the new Order was inaugurated at Freemasons’ Hall, London.

At that meeting all the Scarlet Cord Conclaves were erased from the register of the Order of the Secret Monitor, then constituted, dedicated, and consecrated as Consistories of the Scarlet Cord. “T.I”, referring to “Time Immemorial” and formed the into 16 Provinces which

contained 3 or more Consistories in each Province and 12 smaller Inspectorates.

The Order has continued to grow and has now 28 Provinces with 108 Consistories.

bottom of page